Older Sun Releases 2-song Cassette with Revitalized Lineup

San Francisco-based band Older Sun has just released two new heavy psychedelic blues-rock originals recorded at Ruminator Audio with veteran Bay Area engineer and producer Monte Vallier. The recordings are the first offering from the new five piece lineup featuring Kelsey Guntharp on lead vocals and Mike Baptista on guitar, with founding members Bryan Coons on bass, Chris Mulhauser on guitar, and Patrick Crawford on drums.

Older Sun has been road testing the new material on stage supporting bands such as Lucifer (SWE), Haunt, Earthless, Feral Ohms, Hot Lunch, and more. The new songs continue the bands trajectory of honoring the forebears of leaden heavy rock like James Gang, Mountain, and Grand Funk — with the addition of the powerful assertive vocals of Kelsey Guntharp in the vein of Janis Joplin and the newly infused twin guitar attack hailing the mighty Thin Lizzy and Scorpions.

The 2-song “Wild Side” EP is available on cassette and digital formats. Pre-orders are available now through Bandcamp.

Older Sun has been called "a band out of time, that may be ‘retro rock’ now, but if it was 1975, these guys would be ruling the arenas, and playing and partying with the best of them.”
Aquarius Records